Moore About Franklin – May 2012

May 30th, 2012

Posted by marykate in News on May 30th, 2012

Memorial Day Service In Franklin

Memorial Day - The first Memorial Day celebration for in 1868 and was an event to honor the soldiers that died during the Civil War. It was later expanded to include all of our fighting men from all wars. This year was a difficult year since we recognized one of our own Franklin residents, SPC Jason Edens who died from wounds suffered in Afghanistan. Franklin is a very patriotic community as was demonstrated on May 28, 2012.

Mayor Rogers Anderson & Mayor Ken Moore at Memorial Day Service


Budget - The 2012-2013 budget has passed the first reading and will be up for public hearing on the June 12, 2012 Board of Mayor and Alderman meeting. This years’ budget is balanced with no draw from the reserve fund and reflects a modest three percent increase over the prior budget. Mid-year there will be a 2.5% pay increase for employees and there are a few vacancies that will be filled this year to meet critical needs in the Fire and Police Department. Solid waste fees are proposed to remain unchanged.

This budget funding reflects a continued level of high service for the City and its citizens. For the twenty-sixth straight year there will be no increase in property tax. Sales tax continues to be the prime source of funding followed by “shared revenue” from the State. The third place source is our property tax which is second lowest in the State and when combined with the county property tax is the lowest in the State. Congratulations to City staff who have worked very hard on this budget.

Blue Knight Ball and Police Recognitions - Annually, this ball is conducted to raise money for fallen officers and their family. At the same time it is an opportunity for awards to be given to our policemen who have distinguished themselves this past year. Congratulations to the following award winners:

  • Chief’s Award, given to the officer who most exemplifies, in their every-day work, the three words worn on the sleeves of every Franklin Police Officer: Professional, Progressive, Responsive : Officer James Phillips
  • Jackie Moore Award, given to the officer whose every-day work product is reflective of the service and values displayed throughout retired Franklin Police Chief Jackie Moore’s career: Patrick Tippit
  • Officer of the Year: Officer Brigham VanHook
  • Detective of the Year: Detective Chad Pace
  • Dispatcher of the Year: Sarah Ginter
  • Innovation Award, given to the officer whose ‘outside of the box’ vision has made notable differences in the reduction of crime and increased quality of life for Franklin citizens: Sergeant Jack Morgan
  • Impact Award, given to the officer whose technological contributions have helped to keep the Franklin PD cutting edge in their use of computer technology in an electronic era: Sergeant David Prather
  • Sober Streets Award, given to the officer who had the most notable contribution in the Department’s efforts to detect, arrest, and prosecute impaired drivers: Officer Cory Kroeger
  • Medal of Valor: Officers Brad Dorman and Brett Spivy for their selfless pursuit and capture of an armed pharmacy robbery suspect.
  • Medal of Life: Sergeant JP Taylor and Officer Leigh Ann Hester for their heroic actions that saved the lives of two citizens.
  • Outstanding Investigation Medal: Detective Darren Barnes for his investigation of a cell phone theft ring tied to terrorist groups in Somalia that use cell phones to detonate explosive devices. Detective Barnes is also a 2011 recipient of the Department of Justice Award for Excellence in Law Enforcement for his work in identifying and arresting a serial bank robber.

Moore Elementary Walk - This year’s walk marked the twentieth consecutive year that the school has done their walk on the Natchez Trace. Not only is it popular for the current students but alumni return frequently. This is just one small thing that helps us be a healthier community.

Governor’s Task Force on Obesity - On May 29, 2012 a joint summit of the “Governor’s Task Force on Health and Wellness for Tennessee” and the “Tennessee Obesity Taskforce” was held to discuss obesity, physical activity and healthy eating in Tennessee with the objective of engaging the corporate sector in these important initiatives.

Shorter’s Chapel AME Church - Congratulations to this church who is celebrating their 144th year of existence. Through the years they have made significant contributions to our community and our country through their memberships work and careers.

If You Missed It - The NCAA Division I Ladies Championship was played in Franklin at Vanderbilt’s Legend Club. The City and County played major roles in planning this event which was won by Alabama.

Water - We have had a recent episode of “bad tasting water” that occurred in areas primarily receiving water from our water treatment plant. The issue has been aggressively addressed and continues to be addressed. WMD needs anyone with a water/sewer complaint, question or comment to call them directly at 615-794-4554. Calling them directly at 615-794-4554 is the process they use to track complaints, questions or comments into the City system and to dispatch crews competently.


Paid for by Ken Moore for Mayor, Lisa Lu Smith treasurer.

Graphic Design & Web Development by JLB